Stillness and Change. 2008. 12′
for flute/alto/piccolo, clarinet/bass clarinet,
violin, cello and piano and percussion

I. Moonbeams
II. Stars
III. Island

Matthias Pintscher, conductor.
Ecce ensemble. May 5th, 2010.
Tenri Cultural Institute.



Stillness and Change is an instrumental meditation on the Glück poem “Island”.
At turns explosively energetic and hauntingly reposeful, it is a score that features
rapidly shifting textures and characterful instrumental roles. Punctilious woodwind
trills and incisive writing for pitched percussion and piano are set against cantabile
string lines in a vibrant colloquy.”

–Christian Carey

Back to Music